President of the Republic of Lithuania


The Council of Women World Leaders (CWWL) is a network of current and former women prime ministers and presidents established in 1996 by Vigdís Finnbogadóttir, President of Iceland (1980-1996), Mary Robinson, President of Ireland (1990-1997) and Laura Liswood, Secretary General.

Through its networks, summits, ministerial initiative, partnerships, fellows, and programs, the Council promotes good governance and gender equality, and enhances the experience of democracy globally by increasing the number, effectiveness, and visibility of women who lead their countries. The Council’s goal is to use the symbolic importance of women leaders and the substantive experience of its members to support women’s full participation and representation in the political process at the highest levels, and future women leaders.

The Council is chaired by H.E. the President of the Republic of Lithuania Dalia Grybauskaite. The Council is hosted at the UN Foundation.

Last updated 2015.01.05 12:28